Compute Canada

How do I use the classic webtop?

Please note: The FAQ pages at the HPCVL website are continuously being revised. Some pages might pertain to an older configuration of the system. Please let us know if you encounter problems or inaccuracies, and we will correct the entries.

Read this topic to...

  • Understand how to use the classic webtop.

If you use a web browser to access the classic webtop, the webtop is a special web page.

An example webtop

A link

To access an application, just click its link on your webtop. In a few moments the application appears, ready for you to use. When you start an application, you may need to supply a password for the application server that will run it. If you have difficulties, contact your Secure Global Desktop Administrator.

Secure Global Desktop Administrators configure how the applications appear. Some may appear on your webtop, and others may use their own windows.

A running application's link

A cog appears on the application's icon on your webtop to show that the application's running.

You don't have to exit an application to start another. Just click another link.

Resumable applications

Some applications may be configured to keep running even when they're not displayed: these are "resumable" applications. If the icon for an application includes a cog, you can resume it. Just click the link to display the application again, exactly as you left it.

As the application is still running even though it's not displayed, you could start a lengthy calculation and let it complete while you travel. At your destination, you could display the application again to see the results.

To see if an application is resumable or not, point to its link on your webtop, and look for a message in the status bar at the bottom of the window.

If the message includes...This means...
Not resumableThis application will exit when you follow another link on your webtop. The next time you click the link, a new instance of this application starts.
Resumable until log outThis application continues running when you follow other links on your webtop. The next time you click the link, the running application is displayed. This application continues running until you log out of Secure Global Desktop. When you log in to Secure Global Desktop again and click the application's link, a new instance of this application starts.
Always resumableThis application continues running when you follow other links on your webtop and when you log out of Secure Global Desktop. When you log in to Secure Global Desktop again and click the application's link, the running application is displayed.

Note If you logged in to Secure Global Desktop without typing a username and password, resumable applications are only resumable until you log out.

Printing

Secure Global Desktop lets you print from your applications to your client device's printer.

If you are printing from an application running on a Windows 2000/2003 or a UNIX application server, you can choose which printer you print to. For all other types of application server, you can only print to your default printer.

If you are using a web browser, point to the printer icon on your webtop and a message appears in the status bar at the bottom of the window to say which is your current default printer.

The webtop lets you:

  • See when documents are printing. Status bar information shows you when print jobs are spooling to your client device's printer.
  • Pause your print jobs. The number of print jobs you have waiting in the queue is shown on the status bar.
  • Cancel your print jobs.

If you're using a web browser for Secure Global Desktop:

The Pause button

To pause your current print job and any new ones, click the Pause button. Click the Pause button again to restart.

The Cancel button

To cancel your current print job, click the Cancel button.

If you're using the Sun Secure Global Desktop Native Client, use the Print menu to pause and restart printing, and to cancel print jobs.

If you have paused printing, any print jobs that are pending are held in a queue until you either cancel them or resume printing. You may see a warning message if you log in and you have print jobs paused in the queue. The message reminds you about the print jobs and allows you to start printing them.

Logging out

You should always log out of Secure Global Desktop before exiting your web browser or the Sun Secure Global Desktop Native Client.

If you're using a web browser for Secure Global Desktop:

The Log Out button

To log out of Secure Global Desktop, click the Log Out icon on your webtop, and click OK when prompted for confirmation.

To log out of Secure Global Desktop from the Sun Secure Global Desktop Native Client, click Log Out on the Webtop menu, and click OK when prompted for confirmation.

Related topics

Copyright © 1997-20011 Sun Microsystems, Inc. All rights reserved.