Compute Canada

How do I introduce my webtop?

Please note: The FAQ pages at the HPCVL website are continuously being revised. Some pages might pertain to an older configuration of the system. Please let us know if you encounter problems or inaccuracies, and we will correct the entries.

Read this topic to...

  • Understand how to use your webtop.

Your webtop is a special web page that lists the applications that you can run and lets you run them:

An example webtop

Running applications

You use the Applications bar to manage the applications you can use:

An application link

To start an application, you click its link on your webtop. In a few moments the application appears, ready for you to use.

When you start an application, you may be asked for a username and password. This is your username and password for the application server that will run the application.

You don't have to exit an application before starting another. Just click another link.

Secure Global Desktop Administrators configure how the applications appear. Some may appear on the webtop and others in a separate window.

If you have difficulties, contact your Secure Global Desktop Administrator.

A running application

When an application is running, a triangle appears in front of the application's name on the webtop and a number appears in brackets after it. The session toolbar also appears below the application name.

The number in brackets is the number of separate instances of the application that you have started. Secure Global Desktop Administrators configure how many instances of an application you can start. To find out how many instances of an application you are allowed, point to its link on the webtop. The popup that displays states the number of sessions allowed.

There is a separate session toolbar for each running instance of the application:

  • ClickThe suspend buttonto suspend an application.
  • ClickThe resume buttonto resume an application.
  • ClickThe cancel buttonto end an application.

Note Suspending and resuming applications is explained below.

A hidden session toolbarClick the triangle to hide and show the session toolbars for the application sessions.
Manage all sessionsYou can manage all your application sessions at once:
  • Click Suspend All to suspend all running applications.
  • Click Resume All to resume all suspended applications.
  • Click Cancel All to end all running or suspended applications.

Suspending and resuming applications

Some applications can be configured to keep running even when they're not displayed. These are "resumable" applications.

To see if an application is resumable or not, point to its link on your webtop and look at the popup window that displays.

If the popup window says...This means...
Not resumableThis application will exit when you log out of Secure Global Desktop.
You can't suspend or resume, non-resumable applications.

Note Non-resumable applications only have a cancel buttonThe cancel buttonin the session toolbar.

Resumable until log outThis application continues running until you log out of Secure Global Desktop.
While you are logged in, you can suspend and resume these applications.
Always resumableThis application continues running even after you have logged out of Secure Global Desktop. When you log in again, click the resume buttonThe resume buttonto display the running application again.

To close an application's window without ending the application, yoususpendthe application. To display the window again and start using the application, youresumethe application.

As an application is still running even though it's not displayed, you could start writing an urgent report in the office and then log out of Secure Global Desktop at the end of the day (the application is suspended). When you get home, you could log in to Secure Global Desktop again, resume the application and carry on writing the report.

Note If you logged in to Secure Global Desktop without typing a username and password, resumable applications are only resumable until you log out.

Choosing the applications that display on your webtop

Only a Secure Global Desktop Administrator can add an application to, or remove an application from, the list of applications that you can run. However, you can choose how and when those applications display on your webtop. You do this by creating webtop groups.

Webtop groups are useful for grouping similar applications together or for hiding applications you don't use very often. How you use groups is up to you.

To create a webtop group:

  1. On the webtop, click Edit Groups.
  2. Click Add Group.
  3. Type a name for the group.
  4. Check the boxes for the applications and documents you want to include in the group.
  5. Check/uncheck the boxes for the display options for the group (the display options are explained below).
  6. Click Save Group.
  7. Click Done.

You can add as many groups as you like. By clicking Edit Groups, you can list the groups you have created and change or delete a group.

An open groupThe names of the webtop groups you create display on the webtop.

A separator line also displays to show you which applications are in the group.

If you unchecked the box next to "I want to see this group on my webtop when I log in", then the applications in this group do not display on your webtop.

An closed groupClick the triangle to hide and show the applications in the group.

If you unchecked the box next to "I want to see the contents of this group when I log in", then only the group name displays when you first log in.

Printing

Secure Global Desktop lets you print from your applications to your client device's printer.

If you are printing from an application running on a Windows 2000/2003 or a UNIX application server, you can choose which printer you print to. For all other types of application server, you can only print to your default printer.

You use the Printing bar to manage your print jobs:

Printing barWhen documents are printing, the webtop tells you how many print jobs are in the queue.

Click Pause to temporarily stop printing. The printer icon changes to show you when printing is paused.
Printing paused button

If you pause printing, any print jobs that are pending are held in a queue until you either cancel them or resume printing.

Click Resume to start printing again after you have paused it.

Click Cancel All to delete all your print jobs.

To manage print jobs individually, click List all jobs. The webtop displays a list of all the print jobs in the queue, along with information about the job, for example the number of copies and the printer that will be used. If you have paused printing, clickThe resume buttonto print just that one print job. To cancel a print job, clickThe cancel button.

Logging out

You should always log out of Secure Global Desktop before closing your web browser.

The Log Out button

To log out of Secure Global Desktop, click the Logout button on your webtop and click OK when prompted for confirmation.

Related topics

Copyright © 1997-2005 Sun Microsystems, Inc. All rights reserved.